Posted by: C.R. Mooney | November 12, 2008

Write or Die!

Most of my posts here are articles from other people.  Today, I would like to share a little on my own.  I’m working on a nonfiction book, There’s Something Deep Inside.  It has been a long road as this is my first attempt at writing.

One of the hardest things for me is actually sitting down and writing.  Maybe it’s because I’m so ADD that I don’t force myself to focus, or that I’m just stalling becuase I am not sure what to say next.  I have the ideas and outlines laid out, but getting the words out still seems so cumbersome at times.

writeordieA friend sent me a link today to a little app called Write or Die!  Basically you set up a time that you want to write, and a word goal, and it helps you stay motivated to keep writing.  If you stop writing for a period of time (seconds) the screen changes colors to get your attention.  If you take too long before you start writing again, it plays these awful noises. 

I tried it out to see if it would keep me going (hey, I’ll try anything that’s free!).  I set a goal of 250 words in ten minutes.    I paused lomg enough at the end to see what would happen if I stopped, and this dreadful violin rendition of Fer Elise started blazing through my speakers.  It was more then enough motivation to kepp going.  Wha-la!  I hit 285 before the time was over.

Now, this might not be for everyone, but give it a try and let me know how it goes for you.

“Remember, “Ameteurs wait for the muse to arrive, the rest of us just get to work.” – Philip Roth

– mooney


Leave a Reply

Categories

