Posted by: C.R. Mooney | May 21, 2012

Advice to First-Time Authors by Michael Hyatt

Since I am yet to be published, I would consider myself in this category, and definitely needing some advice.  Who better to get it from than Michael Hyatt, CEO of Thomas Nelson publishing.

Here is an excerpt from a post on his blog (which I strongly recommend you follow) There is a link at the end for the remainder of the article.

Advice to First-Time Authors

As you might imagine, I receive a lot of email from would-be authors who are trying to get published. Because I make my email address public, it’s pretty easy to get to me.

An old-fashioned typewriter

However, by the time I hear from people, they are usually frustrated. They can’t get anyone in the book publishing world to respond, and they are convinced that they have a killer-idea. “If only someone would just read my manuscript,” they plead.

The problem is that most publishers will not review unsolicited proposals or manuscripts. I personally receive hundreds every year; our staff receives thousands. We simply don’t have the resources to review these. It’s like looking for a needle in a haystack.

So as an author, what do you do? Here’s what I recommend:…

You can also follow Michael Hyatt on Twitter as: MichaelHyatt


Leave a Reply

Categories

