Posted by: C.R. Mooney | April 5, 2013

Why Do I Write?

Why do i writeI’ve spent countless hours of my life adding pages to a book I will complete this year. I hope it will be published, but there is no guarantee. I also spend time writing for my blogs that have a few readers and short stories that I share with friends. It can all add up to feeling like a writing failure — unless I know why I write.

The question, “Why do I write?” is one every author (or aspiring author like me) must answer. Why? Because there will come a time when the countless hours spent in solitude pouring our souls into a manuscript will seem like a waste, and we’ll ask, “Why do I torture myself so?”

When you find the answer, it will be your core motivating factor.

So, why do I write?

I write about what I am going through in life, my challenges, my triumphs, my struggles. I write about how God walks me through making me more like him. It’s therapy for me, the avenue by which God reveals to me the issues I am blind to otherwise. And in writing them, I share them with you, so that maybe if you are going through the same thing it will be a light to you.

That’s why I sit here with my laptop and type this even though it’s 2:37am. Because I know that this can inspire you to be who God made you to be.

I write for change — for souls.

If not one person ever reads my non-fiction There’s Something Deep Inside, my soon to follow novels, this blog, or crmooney.com, I won’t be discouraged because my life has been changed. And when I’m feeling lazy and want nothing more than to do any other thing than write, I remember that there are souls waiting on the other side of my obedience and it gives me the strength to go on.

So what moves you? Why do you write?


Responses

  1. Reblogged this on worldpen.

  2. So do I. Thank you.

  3. […] CHRISTIAN WRITING CORNER […]

  4. “It’s therapy for me, the avenue by which God reveals to me the issues I am blind to…” ….I am speechless that is so profound and beautiful.

    • Thanks for stopping by, and for your kind words.

  5. I write because I know the Lord has called me to do it. That’s the greatest honor I can imagine.
    It renews our faith time and again to know that even when we think we can’t do it, He will help us, and show us what to do. It’s awe-inspiring.
    Thanks for the article

  6. It’s expressing my feelings in poetry, creating a a new world in novels of love and hope, every good and noble thing from the Lord. It’s nice to find another believer, makes it so much easier.

  7. I write because I truly want to encourage, inspire, challenge and connect with people. I want to share the word of God with the world, because the truth is liberating!

  8. Inspired to share His grace! May God richly bless your efforts and exponentially expand your audience as you continue to invest your faith and talents to affecting change in the world around you!

  9. I write because I want to share with people the things I’ve learned and discovered with the help of Jesus Christ.

    I also wrote a book that is now a free e-book on the internet. The book is about a teenage girl who is called by God to be His Lightbearer in the World. It’s a modern allegory that teaches people to let their light shine for Jesus.

    I have a blog that has a section of short stories that feature the main characters from the book called “Karen The Lightbearer Stories”. I pray that those who read the book and the short stories will learn more about Jesus and how to serve Him.

    Here’s the link to my book called, “Karen The Lightbearer”:

    http://www.christianityoasis.com/puritypublications/5107/KarenTheLightbearer.htm

    And here’s the link to the blog:

    http://lightbearersforjesus.wordpress.com

    May God continue to bless you and inspire you in your writing!

  10. I started writing poems and song since I was in grade school. Words just keep on popping up and I can’t help but writing it down. It’s an expression of emotion for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

